

Award

Ryan Colburn Scholarship Award

Description

In 2011, AMCHP established the Ryan Colburn Scholarship Award. Ryan Colburn was an amazing young man with varied interests ranging from singing in a choir to sports (he was an avid Auburn and Atlanta Braves fan and played the outfield in Miracle League Baseball). He touched the hearts and lives of all who came in contact with his contagious personality and unforgettable smile. Ryan carried a strong message to the disability community imploring others with disabilities to live life to the fullest. In honor of his life and his affirming message to the disability community, his mother Susan Colburn, a family leader, advocate, and AMCHP member created the Ryan Colburn Scholarship Award to keep alive the work that Ryan had started in the recent years before his passing. Ryan spoke at local and national conferences about growing up with a disability and spreading the message of the importance of living life to the fullest. The Scholarship provides support for a youth-with-disabilities leader to attend the AMCHP Annual Conference, connect with family leaders, and continue to spread Ryan's message of hope.

Criteria

Nominees for the Ryan Colburn Scholarship Award must meet the following criteria:

- Candidate is a young adult with SHCN, who has had some connection to their state Title V program, (as a
 recipient of services, serving in some sort of advisory capacity, or both) and can build off of this
 experience by going back and continuing to be involved in their state.
- Candidate is 18-25 years of age who identifies as having special healthcare needs or disabilities).
- Candidate has shown consistent, active participation in public and/or community service activities.
- Candidate must demonstrate knowledge of the system of care that serves Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs through direct involvement in a voluntary, advisory, or paid capacity or as a recipient of services from the state's Title V program (MCH OR CYSHCN).
- Preferences may be given to individuals who have demonstrated active participation as a leader in the disability community or with public health/maternal and child health.
- Candidate must be a first-time attendee at the AMCHP Annual Conference (if you have previously attended the AMCHP Annual Conference you are not eligible to apply).

Selection Process

One award will be made annually from a pool of nominations solicited nationwide. AMCHP accepts self-nominations for this category. AMCHP will issue a call for award nominations via AMCHP Pulse, Member Briefs, the AMCHP website, and blast emails to all AMCHP contacts approximately six months prior to the Annual Conference. The Governance Committee reviews and approves the final recommendation for consideration by the Board of Directors. Nominees are notified of the final status of their submission approximately three months prior to the Annual Conference. The Ryan Colburn Scholarship Award is awarded during the AMCHP Annual Conference. This award may not be awarded annually.

Special Travel Funding

Awardee will receive full conference registration of their choosing (in-person or virtual). If the awardee prefers to accept the award in person, reimbursement of up to \$1,800 will be provided to the awardee for airfare, meals, and personal attendant costs to attend the AMCHP Annual Conference. In addition, AMCHP will provide up to two nights of lodging. Other reasonable accommodations to participate can be provided upon request.



The following expectations apply to awardees selected for this scholarship award:

- Attend the entire AMCHP annual conference
- Develop a plan on how you will share the information and resources with other youth
- Submit a picture for inclusion in AMCHP publications
- Share with AMCHP and their mentor the impact and outcomes of their activities
- The award winner will have the opportunity to access the leadership development activities currently available through AMCHP's Leadership Institute and/or other opportunities

Prior Awardees

2022 Dylan Campbell

2020 Tracy Lee Allard

2019 Julia Hartman

2018 Hope Hoffman

2017 Edward Esbeck

2015 Asha Purohit

2014 Teresa Nguyen

2013 Steven Nguyen

2012 Josiah Barber