

Award

Excellence in State MCH Leadership Award

Description

In 2012, this award was created to recognize an outstanding state MCH professional whose career in MCH has made significant contributions to their state's MCH program, state maternal and child health outcomes, and made other significant contributions to promoting and protecting the health of women, children, and families in their state. The awardee is an effective MCH leader, exhibiting competency in many if not all of the MCH Leadership Competencies. The nominator should focus on how the nominee demonstrates excellence in relevant MCH Leadership Competency areas. Refer to the Leadership Competencies website for more information.

Criteria

Nominees for the Excellence in State MCH Leadership Award must meet the following criteria:

- Be an AMCHP member OR their organization/agency must be an AMCHP member at the time of the nomination.
- Be employed by a state health agency whose mission focuses on MCH issues.
- If the nominee is not a Title V/MCH/CYSHCN director or AMCHP Delegate, a letter supporting the nomination must be submitted by the state Title V/MCH/CYSHCN director or a state AMCHP Delegate.
- Candidate is not a current, active member of the AMCHP Board of Directors or Staff.

Selection Process

One award will be made annually from a pool of nominations solicited nationwide. AMCHP will issue a call for award nominations via AMCHP Pulse, Member Briefs, the AMCHP website, and blast emails to all AMCHP contacts approximately six months prior to the Annual Conference. Nominations will close and all materials must be submitted approximately five months prior to the Annual Conference. The Governance Committee reviews all nominations and submits a single recommendation for consideration by the Board of Directors. Nominees are notified of the final status of their submission approximately three months prior to the Annual Conference. The Excellence in State MCH Leadership Award is awarded during the AMCHP Annual Conference. This award may not be awarded annually.

Special Travel Funding

Awardee will receive full conference registration of their choosing (in-person or virtual).

This award does not currently cover travel to attend the AMCHP Conference to accept the award in person.

Prior Awardees

2023 Dr. Vanessa Walker Harris, MD 2022 Mary Bost, MSW 2021 James Jeffries, MSL 2020 Chris R. Haag, BS, MPH 2019 Ailis Clyne, MD MPH 2018 Miguel Valencia, MD 2017 Stephanie Wrightsman-Birch, RN MPH MS FNP 2016 Rachel Sisson MS 2013 Nan Streeter, MS RN 2012 Ruth Ann Shepherd, MD FAAP *Recognition of Distinction* 2012 Elizabeth Collins, NH 2012 Rebekah Gee, LA 2012 Sarah Thorton, MN