

Award

Emerging MCH Professional Award

Description

In 2014, the Emerging (formerly titled Young) MCH Professional Award was developed to recognize current/future leaders for their significant contributions to their state MCH programs in promoting and protecting the health of women, children, and families in their state and/or region. This award recognizes outstanding state or local MCH professionals under age 45 or with less than 10 years of experience whose work has made substantial contributions to their state's MCH program, their state's MCH outcomes, or made other significant contributions to promoting and protecting the health of women, children, and families in their state. It recognizes an individual's capacity to perform above and beyond expectations, using creativity and innovation to address pressing MCH challenges, and their emerging and future leadership potential. Up to ten awards, a maximum of one from each HHS Region, will be conferred annually. The recipients will be recognized at AMCHP's Annual Conference.

Criteria

Nominees for the Emerging MCH Professional Award must meet the following criteria:

- Nominee must be 45 years of age or younger or with less than 10 years of experience
- Demonstrate individual capacity to perform above and beyond expectations, using creativity and innovation to address pressing MCH challenges, and their emerging and future leadership potential.
- Be an AMCHP member OR their organization/agency must be an AMCHP member at the time of the nomination.
- Be employed by a state health agency or health-related partner whose mission focuses on MCH issues (i.e. March of Dimes, AAP, Family Voices, Healthy Mothers/Healthy Babies, etc.) Employment may be part or full-time, internship, fellowship, etc.)
- If the nominee is not a Title V/MCH/CYSHCN director or AMCHP delegate, a letter supporting the nomination must be submitted by the state Title V/MCH/CYSHCN director or a state AMCHP delegate.
- Candidate may not be a current, active member of the AMCHP Board of Directors or Staff.

Selection Process

Up to ten (10) awards will be made annually from a pool of nominations solicited nationwide. AMCHP will issue a call for award nominations via AMCHP Pulse, Member Briefs, the AMCHP website, and blast emails to all AMCHP contacts approximately six months prior to the Annual Conference. Nominations will close and all materials must be submitted approximately five months prior to the Annual Conference. The AMCHP Region Directors will conduct the initial vetting of all nominations within their region using an identified process with the states in their region and submit a single recommended candidate to the Governance Committee from their specific region.

The Governance Committee reviews and approves the final recommendation for consideration by the Board of Directors. Nominees are notified of the final status of their submission approximately three months prior to the Annual Conference. The Emerging MCH Professional Award is awarded during the AMCHP Annual Conference. This award may not be awarded annually in each of the ten HRSA regions.

Special Travel Funding

Awardee will receive full conference registration of their choosing (in-person or virtual). This award includes support for one (1) hotel night to attend the AMCHP Conference to accept the award in person.

Prior Awardees

```
2023 William Arias - Region I
2023 Dr. Dane De Silva – Region III
2023 Dr. Anne Odusanya - Region IV
2023 Sara Haig - Region V
2023 Audrey Young - Region VI
2023 Dr. Stephanie Radke – Region VII
2023 Angie Goodger (Region VIII
2023 Ipuniuesea Eliapo-Unutoa – Region IX
2023 Caroline Sedano – Region X
2022 Aidea Downie, MA - Region I
2022 Pamela Taylor, MPH - Region II
2022 Rachel Heitmann, MS – Region IV
2022 Sarah Dunne, MSW, MPH, BSSW - Region V
2022 Rachel Rayla, MPH – Region VI
2022 Kafi Dixon, MA – Region VII
2022 Kimberly Hruby, MSN, RN - Region VIII
2022 Martín F. Celaya, MPH – Region IX
2022 Rebekah Morisse, MPH, RN - Region X
2021 Sara Chesbrough, MPA – Region I
2021 Camille A. Delgado-López, MPH – Region II
2021 Teresa Marks, MS – Region III
2021 Marilyn Johnson, MBA - Region IV
2021 Kristie Ferris, BA - Region V
2021 Claire Niday, MPH – Region VI
2021 Joyal Meyer, RN, MSN - Region VIII
2021 Sarah Leff, MPH – Region IX
2021 Alexis Bate, MSW, MA - Region X
2020 Mahsa M. Yazdy, PhD, MPH - Region I
2020 Jennie Blakney, MA Ed. - Region II
2020 Emily Yeatts, MSW, MPH - Region III
2020 Kimberly Seals, MSPH, MPA – Region IV
2020 Kate Schedel, MPH – Region V
2020 Rosaria Trochilus, MPH – Region VI
2020 Kelsee Torrez, MPA – Region VII
2020 Shivani Bhatia, MPH - Region VIII
2020 Lissa Pressfield, MHS – Region VIII
2020 Margaret Young, MPH - Region X
2019 Jaime Comella – Region I
2019 Derval N. Petersen - Region II
2019 Shamaree J. Cromartie - Region III
2019 Kelly Kimple - Region IV
2019 Gloria Grady - Region VI
2019 Stephanie Wolf – Region VII
2019 Miriam Naiman-Sessions - Region VIII
2019 Heather Pangelinan – Region IX
2019 Wes Rivers – Region X
2018 Katie Stetler – Region I
2018 Morgan McDonald – Region IV
2018 Candi Bush - Region V
2018 Natlie P. Archer - Region VI
2018 Heather Smith – Region VII
2018 Audra Bishop - Region VIII
2018 Alison Martin – Region X
2017 Kristin Lawless - Region II
2017 Michael Weinrauch - Region IV
2017 Katy Schalla-Lesiak – Region V
2017 Kelsey Anderson - Region VI
2017 Marcus Johnson-Miller - Region VII
2017 Danielle Marks - Region VIII
2017 Anaise Marie Uso – Region IX
2017 Jared Parrish - Region X
```

2016 Johanna Pringle – Region IV 2016 Jennifer Severe-Oforah – Region VII 2016 Anna Helms – Region VIII 2016 Breann Westmore – Region IX

